Governance‎ > ‎

Governance Group

In the first instance, the governance group will provide guidance on the base product (which for LCDB-3 is proposed as the 33 classes, see table), terms of reference for the governance and advisory groups, and implement programme and project management methodologies.

The governance group will provide a forum where users can identify their individual and collective needs, and identify where the specific needs of different agencies align and where they do not align.  Where the needs of agencies align, these agencies would be expected to work together within the programme with Landcare Research to meet the collective needs. Where only one agency has a specific need it would be expected to work with Landcare Research on this, but keep the governance group informed so that any synergies and opportunities can be identified.  

The governance group will meet as often as needed through the life of the contract, initially we anticipate 2 monthly. The frequency of the meetings is likely to vary over time, depending on the stage of the land cover research programme and the delivery cycle.

MSI would sit as an observer on the governance group. In the early stages the Geospatial Office will be represented on the governance group to ensure that the LCDB links with initiatives in the Spatial Data Infrastructure area. 

Landcare Research would provide programme management to ensure that the programme is managed effectively and on-time. 

Current governance group members:

MSI - Viv Smith

MSI - Sarah McDermott

MfE - Len Brown (Karl Majorhazi as backup)

MAF - Craig Trotter (Paul Lane as backup)

DOC - Allan Ross (Geoff Hicks as backup)

Councils - Rob Phillips, Taranaki Regional Council. (Gary Bedford as backup)

Geospatial Office - Kevin Sweeney (Richard Murcott as backup)

November 2011 Governance Group Meeting

David Pairman,
Oct 27, 2011, 9:27 PM